Youngsoo Shin
Professor, Department of EE, KAIST

291 Daehak-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon 305-701, Korea
Phone: +82-42-350-3479 / Fax: +82-42-351-9895
Email: youngsoo at ee.kaist.ac.kr
Office: NanoSoC S-207

Short biography

Youngsoo Shin received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electronics engineering from Seoul National University, Korea. From 2000 to 2001, he was with the University of Tokyo, Japan, as a Research Associate, and from 2001 to 2004, he was with IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, as a Research Staff Member. He joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, KAIST, Daejeon, Korea, in 2004, where he is currently a Professor.

His research interests are in the areas of computer-aided design with emphasis on low-power design and design tools, high-level synthesis, sequential synthesis, and structured ASIC. Dr. Shin received several awards including a Best Paper Award at 2005 Int'l Symp. on Quality Electronic Design (ISQED), 2002 IP Excellence Award from Japan, and excellence in teaching award from KAIST in 2008. He has been a member of the technical program committee and organizing committee of many technical conferences, including DAC, ICCAD, ISLPED, ASP-DAC, CASES, ISVLSI, and ISCAS. He is a member of ACM SIGDA Low Power Technical Committee and is serving as an Associate Editor of IEEE TCAD and ACM TODAES. He is a Senior Member of IEEE and ACM. 

Academic honors
  • Department Faculty Teaching Award, Dept. of EE, KAIST, fall semester of 2012 
  • Department Faculty Teaching Award, Dept. of EE, KAIST, spring semester of 2008 
  • Nominated for Best Paper Award, Int. Symp. on Quality Electronic Design (ISQED), San Jose, CA, 2007 
  • Best Paper Award, Int. Symp. on Quality Electronic Design (ISQED), San Jose, CA, 2005 
  • IP Excellence Award, 4th LSI IP Design Award, Japan, 2002 
  • Best Paper Award, Int. SoC Design Conf., Korea, 2006

Academic activities
  • Associate Editor, IEEE Tr. on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems (TCAD) (2012-)
  • Associate Editor, ACM Tr. on Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES) (2011-)
  • TPC Chair, ICCD (2014)
  • TPC Chair, VLSI-SoC (2015)
  • Executive Committee, ICCAD (2013-)
  • Steering Committee, ASP-DAC (2013-)
  • General Secretary, ASP-DAC (2008)
  • TPC Secretary, ASP-DAC (2011)
  • Finance Chair, FPT (2012)
  • Industry Liaison, CASES (2006)
  • Special Session Chair, ISLPED (2011)
  • Track Chair, ASP-DAC (2008, 2009, 2010, 2012)
  • Track Chair, ICCAD (2004)
  • Track Chair (2010), Track Vice-Chair (2011), ISLPED
  • Member-at-Large, ACM SIGDA Low-Power Technical Committee (LPTC), 2010~
  • TPC Member: DAC (2009, 2010, 2014), ICCAD (2003-2005), ASP-DAC (2006-2010, 2012), ISLPED (2003-2012), SIGDA Ph.D. Forum at DAC (2005-2011), IEDEC (2012), ISCAS (2006), ASICON (2005), ICESS (2005), ALPS (2006), ISVLSI (2009), ASQED (2009, 2011)
  • 분과위원장/공동위원장, 한국반도체학술대회 (2011, 2012)
  • Tutorial Chair, ISOCC (2007, 2008)